Timer in 8051

mayank rob

Joined Sep 18, 2012
Hi there
I am new to embedded,i have programmed my boards using assembly language but now m trying to learn it using embedded C.
I am using keil, controller-89V51RD2
I want to use timer without using interrupt.
my code is:

#include<reg51.h>
sbit LED1=P3^0;

//Timer 0 is used
void main()
{

while(1)
{
unsigned int x;
//Mode 1 is used
TMOD=0x01;
TH0=0xFF;
TL0=0xFF;
LED1=1;
TF0=0; //clearing the overflow flag
TR0=1; //START TIMER

while(TF0==0)
{
//waiting till the timer flag overflows
}
x=x+1;
if(x%99==0)
{
LED1=!LED1;
}
TF0=0;
TR0=0;

}
}

the code shows 2 warning when i execute it.
I am wondering that if something is wrong with my code or logic...not able to figure it out.
thanks

embpic

Joined May 29, 2013
as you have given TH0 and TL0 as 0xFF so at every time it get overflow when it get initialize. so no need to use of timer then.
and if you are going to use it without interrupt then no use of timer then use delay instead.

mayank rob

Joined Sep 18, 2012
embpic: thank you for realizing me for such a such a silly mistake,it was blunder i realized.
And i didnt use interrupt because am a beginner,so just a thought came into mind of using it without interrupt but then its not working and now am wondering whats wrong.
and i tested it again changing the values to 0x00,but no effect.
The warning it showed is:
*** WARNING L1: UNRESOLVED EXTERNAL SYMBOL
SYMBOL: ?C_START
MODULE: STARTUP.obj (?C_STARTUP)
*** WARNING L2: REFERENCE MADE TO UNRESOLVED EXTERNAL
ADDRESS: 080AH

And if i compile it and burn it anyway then i see no response in LED.
LED is in active low configuration
the timers and circuit is working well since i have tested the default codes by the board provider n they run smoothly. Its something wrong with my logic.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
The warning it showed is:
*** WARNING L1: UNRESOLVED EXTERNAL SYMBOL
*** WARNING L2: REFERENCE MADE TO UNRESOLVED EXTERNAL
ADDRESS: 080AH