Timer ciruit using 4060b and 555

clintb00

Joined Apr 10, 2010
Hello all! Let me first state that I am a noob to all this electrical stuff and I'm here just to learn and have fun with it, so please forgive my ignorance.

With that begin said, I decided to build the circuit that Bill designed (see below) and I don't know if my 555 timer is working correctly or anything for that matter. My led cycles on then off every ~2 min 40 sec (on ~1min 20 off ~ 1min 20). Is this correct? What exactly is the frequency of circuit? What is that measuring?

I have an old AC-DC power converter (power supply) that I was using to power this circuit, 12v @ 0.5amp. Is that enough power (amperage) to run this circuit?

Sorry for all the questions, but any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

I have basic electronic knowlege i.e. how to read a schematic, component types and how to use a MM.

Please reference the original thread posted by Chriswms17:
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/sh...ad.php?t=33015

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hello Clintb00,
There were a number of schematics posted in that thread.

Exactly which schematic did you build? It's a bit tough to guess without having a specific reference.

You tried to link to something, but it didn't post properly.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well, this is Bill Marsden's circuit.

Rather than me spending time analyzing it, he should be able to tell you right off what times/frequencies you should be seeing.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
OK, this circuit was custom designed to be off for 8 hours and on for only 45 seconds. It is basically an oscillator.

Is this what you want?

This is a test circuit. It will work, but it won't be very accurate. The other gentleman was also new to electronics, most of my advice applies to you that I gave him, notably about protoboards. Do you know what a protoboard is?