Timer Circuit Problem

kauffjd3

Joined May 3, 2009
First off hello all! I'm a computer programmer and am new to electrical circuit board development. I have been searching google and playing around with a bread board for a few days now and need some help.

Project:
Temperature driven motor

Example:
Set temperature to 60 degrees

1. If temperature is below 60 degrees run the motor clockwise for 1 second.

2. If the temperature is above 60 degrees run the motor counter clockwise for 1 second.

I didn't do anything with the temperature yet because I may just order a kit.

Anyway I currently have a 556 timer ic setup i monostable mode like this (this is for either clockwise or counter clockwise then the second time will be for the opposite direction):
http://www.eleinmec.com/figures/004_02.gif

I plugged in a 12v blue bulb to the output and hooked up a 9v battery to test it. Nothing happened but then I realized I needed to trigger it.

So I gave the trigger wire 9v power and nothing. So I grounded it and to my surprise it worked. When I quickly touched the trigger wire to the ground and removed it the blue light would stay on for a split second after I ungrounded the trigger wire. Hence the 1 second.

Finally my question:
My temperature kit is going to power all the time so how am I suppose to hook it up to my trigger? Currently if I keep the trigger wire grounded the light stays on.

Thanks in advance for all your help! And if there is an easier way of doing this I am all ears.

Justin

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
First note that the kit is not able to measure 60 degrees celcious (5-30).

If you hold the trigger of the 555 always pressed then the 555 will re-trigger and the output will be always high. You need to depress the trigger switch before the timing cycle ends.

To solve the problem replace the trigger switch with a 100nF capacitor and a 10K resistor in parallel with it and use the output relay of the kit to power the whole 555.

kauffjd3

Joined May 3, 2009