Timed Delay Signal Output

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Great NY

Joined Nov 21, 2009
hi, as you can probably see from my post count i am very new here. I have been browsing this forum all day and you guys are outstanding.

Im a mechanic and am very knowledgeable about basic electrical issues. but when it comes to electronics, im not the sharpest knife in the bunch.

anyway, i have a project that im working on for my car. I am trying to make something that will automatically Turn-off my TCS (traction control) when i start the car, but after the initial function allow regular use of the factory switch.

here is a schematic of the TCS button

the button itself is a Momentary switch which basically completes the circuit to send a trigger and opens once released. from the looks of the schematic its very simple, looks like it triggers by a ground, correct?

What i need is something that will take the signal(12v i believe) going into the switch, take it and delay it for 10 seconds, then pass it to the the other wire. which should in turn switch off my TCS. but i will need it to shut off after the initial so the button can be used normally.

I read that the 555 timer has something called "one shot pulse" i went to radio shack and brought the 555 timer chip, and some resistors and capacitors.

but i am honestly unsure which ones to use and how to hook them up. do i need a board or something? or is just connecting them all via 22ga wire feasible?

any info would be outstanding, i want to ask for an actual schematic on how to hook it up, but i think that would be asking for too much being a newb. so if you can tell me what parts to get to setup up a 10second delay to output a "one shot pulse" it would be greatly appreciated.

THank you very much for your time.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I would really like to help you with this, but I feel that would violate the Forum rules (safety, property damage).