Time domain analysis, RCL

Serious_student

Joined Feb 12, 2011
Hello,

I am studying for a test in my control systems class and have returned from an extended break(three years) in this field of study, so am badly out of practice.

The problem I am Facing is such:

I have a simple RLC circuit, and am being asked to identify a input/output relationship in time domain, then in frequency domain, and convert between the two.
Time domain is my problem.

The output can be across any of the componnents, in this case i have series RCL, with the output being across L called y(t), and the input being u(t). In my attempts at solving, I can come up with the input signal u(t) is the sum of the voltages across each componnent.

u(t) = vr(t) + vc(t)+ vl(t)

vl = L*(d i(t)/ dt) = y(t)

i(t) = C* (d vc(t)/dt)

i(t) = vr(t)/R

I cant seem to make any substitutions into the input signal equation that result in the input/output being exclusive, and not having vc or vr represented. I can take the derivative of d i(t)/dt = C*d² vc(t)/dt² but how do i eliminate vc or vr and have only derivatives of input or output signals and not any others?
Which formula or law am i missing here? I understand that the current through each componnent is the same. and the sum of the voltages is equal to the source. but how do i make the input/ out put relationship exclusive using

u(t) = vr + vc+ vl

Ive tried taking the derivative of u(t) and substitute from there and come up with more inclusive results.

I know the result with be some sort of second order equation, but cant quite seem to get there

please any help is greatly appreciated.

Serious_student

Joined Feb 12, 2011
this helps. but im still unsure if i can call i(t) = y(t) because it's the sole current in the system to make the result exclusive to input output.

also there is an integral in the fundamental formula for the RLC there which is not what my professor is looking for.

steveb

Joined Jul 3, 2008