Time Delay Circuit with Delay-On and then Delay-Off

louie55

Joined Dec 27, 2011
Hello,

I am attempting to work on my first ever Electronic Circuit Design. I have a lot of experience working with older 50's and 60's electro-mechanical electronics and with electrical wiring, but this is my first attempt at a modern electronic circuit with IC chips, resistors, capacitors, etc. I did take electronics in college and even have an associate's degree in Electronics, however, most of that study involved theory and equations and not much in the way of practical circuit design. So I do know the basics of the components.

Now that the back-story is out of the way, here is what I need to build.

The exact funcionality I need is this:

I need a circuit that, when power is applied, will keep the output LOW for approx. 2.25 seconds, then switch the output HIGH for approx. 3.75 seconds, then the power will be cut. The circuit must then reset itself for another iteration of the same delay (which might happen automatically when the power is cut? Not sure if the capacitors will discharge or not?) The output will be connected to a low power relay coil (about 270 ohms). Input and Output Voltage is 12VDC.

Just for reference, my input voltage to this circuit is actually 32VAC, however, I think I have the voltage dropped down to 12VDC using a transformer/bridge rectifier/voltage regulator, and it seems to be working good (in Multisim anyway). So the actual input to my time delay circuit will be 12VDC. So assume that for further discussion.