Three-Phase Full-Wave Rectifier question

BrainFog

Joined Jan 24, 2011
I am still learning electronics so take this into account when you reply, for example when using acronyms could you put in brackets what they stand for. Thanks

I have been randomly looking online for information about power supplies. One interesting way of achieving stable DC (Direct Current) current from AC (Alternating Current) from the mains socket, 240v 50Hz, seems to be by using Three-Phase Full-Wave Rectification. I have easily found many schematics showing how to turn a 3 phase AC source into a stable DC current but nothing pertaining to how I get that 3 phase AC source.
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_3/4.html#03267.png

I remember reading a few weeks ago about how inductors and capacitors can cause slight changes in the phases of AC. Is this how it is done?

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
I am still learning electronics so take this into account when you reply, for example when using acronyms could you put in brackets what they stand for. Thanks

I have been randomly looking online for information about power supplies. One interesting way of achieving stable DC (Direct Current) current from AC (Alternating Current) from the mains socket, 240v 50Hz, seems to be by using Three-Phase Full-Wave Rectification. I have easily found many schematics showing how to turn a 3 phase AC source into a stable DC current but nothing pertaining to how I get that 3 phase AC source.
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_3/4.html#03267.png

I remember reading a few weeks ago about how inductors and capacitors can cause slight changes in the phases of AC. Is this how it is done?