Thoughts on these laser printers?

GScapes

Joined Dec 7, 2013
I found a couple older threads regarding laser printers and want to ask about a couple I've recently found on Tiger Direct. I am a jewelry artist but want to use the toner transfer method to etch some copper with designs for jewelry to keep this on topic, I may create some PCBs as well. I'm heading to Harbor Freight to pick up a laminator to alter but I am a bit lost on the printer aspect - I want to have it at home vs go to a print shop, but I really don't want to throw money down the drain by getting something I can't use. It sounds like you are the experts, so I will defer to your opinions.

First one is the less expensive choice, but I'm not sure what 600x600x2 means...
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=8512606&sku=H24-30361 HP

The second will be more expensive (toner seems to be the culprit) but has higher resolution (and is wired- that isn't a complete dealbreaker but does make things more difficult) http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=8674275&sku=XAM-102110134

Any insight you can give is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
Hi and welcome to the forum. :)

I would do a bit of searching for more info. I remember reading that some brands of laser printers have a toner that does not work well for PCB transfer.

I have used my Canon laserprinter and it works well with the Canon brand toner cartridge.

Also you usually need to fiddle with the printer settings for paper type (on some paper settings it puts down extra toner) and "extra dark" etc to make sure you get a thick toner layer.

You probably need to modify the laminator too to make it slower, unless you want to run the PCB through 10 times! On my laminator (just a cheap one) it had a trimpot on its internal controller PCB to control the heat. That is a better type than some laminators that just have a thermal switch at a fixed temp.