This resistor has me puzzled

ComputeRick

Joined May 4, 2013
I've been working on an LCD power inverter, seems like a lot has been damaged. Replaced most of the capacitors, going through testing resistors but I am missing something or I can't read them yet.

I am still learning, but I have done due diligence and can't make sense of these 2.

A higher res picture is available at this link.

The top left is easy, the top right and bottom left are the confusing ones. The top right is Red, Brown, Silver, Gold, gap then White. I understand that the white is not important to me, but the gap shows that I'm reading it the right direction. Red, Black, Silver, Gold = .3Ω ±5%:confused:. I haven't been anything like a 1w .3Ω resistor.
Testing it, I get 9Ω on my multimeter.

The bottom left is similar: Yellow, Purple, Silver, Gold. Again, by the charts, .47Ω ±5%:confused: I get 9Ω on this also with my meter.

I appreciate any insights that you can offer. I just doubt the color charts and the silver strip is messing me up. But I believe both of these resistors are damaged.

Attachments

Rbeckett

Joined Sep 3, 2010
Rick,
Are you reading across the resistor in the circuit? You must disconect at least one end to isolate the component or you will sead the resistance in that part of the circuit which may contain other resitors and components. Just makin sure we are all starting from the same place.

Bob

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Could it be something is wrong with your meter. Did you try to read a new 0.47Ω resistor and see what the value is displayed on your meter.

In my experience reading a resistor with such a low value in-circuit, would normally yield a resistance reading lower than that displayed on the resistor. But still the most accurate way is to measure it externally like what Bob said.

Allen

ComputeRick

Joined May 4, 2013