Thinking of buying a Simpson 260

Gdrumm

Joined Aug 29, 2008
Within say a $100.00 price range, what series of Simpson would be the best to buy? (probably from Ebay).

I like nostalga, but also like function.

A friend told me of a nice (highly valued) older one, but I don't recall what series it was.

I'm just a novice home user, who works on TV's Microwaves, Fans, Heaters, and stuff like that.

Thanks,
Gary

PatM

Joined Dec 31, 2010
Within say a $100.00 price range, what series of Simpson would be the best to buy? (probably from Ebay).

I like nostalga, but also like function.

A friend told me of a nice (highly valued) older one, but I don't recall what series it was.

I'm just a novice home user, who works on TV's Microwaves, Fans, Heaters, and stuff like that.

Thanks,
Gary
I have a Triplett 630 PLK that is my nostalgia meter.
I used it while troubleshooting at AT&T back in the middle 80'S
Should be in your used price range.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
You should see the power supply engineer when I work: he has if not one then two Simpson 260's actively working on his test bench. I'll have to ask him why he chooses those.

I used one when I was a kid, it was the meter of choice for the Long Island Railroad on which my Dad worked. Nightly I got to use his work meter.

The 260 is a beautiful instrument that will never ever lie to you and will faithfully give you results. I do believe it has some weird (expensive) batteries inside to drive the ohmmeter.

If you have a choice get one with the mirror on the scale: it's there so you don't parallax the reading.

I've been thinking lately of getting one of these too.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I sure wish I knew what happened to the test equipment at the tech school I used to attend. We had tons of those wonderful Simpsons in the property room.

If I had my guess they went in the trash.

bance

Joined Aug 11, 2012