Thevenin Theorem

silverwing57

Joined Mar 25, 2007
Hey guys,
I'm a new electronics student and I can say that I love that fact that they're are forums like this. Anyway I'm having trouble with the thevenin theorem in this question. I have been stewing over it for about 2 hours and I just cant get it right. Any help would be more that appreciated, sorry if the photo is a little hazy, I took it with my phone. Thanks guys.

Attachments

silverwing57

Joined Mar 25, 2007
I can't post it as I don't have a scanner and my phone could not produce a clear enough image. So I'll just text it.

So far I have taken out the load on the far right of the screen. Next I have tried to calculate Vth, I figured since the 4 ohm resistor above the load was incomplete, it did not count in the calculation. So after putting the other two 4 ohm resistors in series I gathered that the 2 ohm resistor dropped 6V and the two 4 ohm resistors also dropped the remaining 6 ohm each. So I figured that Vth = 6V. I also mixed around with a jumper, but not knowing the specifics of it I just omitted it and kept going.

Next I tampered with Vr. After reading a little on the net I came to the equation of (1/2) + (1/8), take the reciprocal = 1.6 + 4 = 5.6 ohms.

So I have technically "done" the question, problem is that I don't know how wrong I got it (and trust me it is), as I don't know how to check it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

antseezee

Joined Sep 16, 2006
OK. I just did the whole problem and am going to go through it step-by-step. I have an upcoming test where we have to apply Thevenin's on Laplace circuits...so I consider it practice.

1. Remove load from A to B. Draw Thevenin Circuit with Eth, in series with Zth, and open node A, with open node B.

2. Find Zth. To do this, remove load between Node A & B of original circuit. Short out voltage sources with wire. Travel from point A to point B finding the total resistance between the 2 points:

Zth = 4 + (4 || 4 || 2)
Zth = 4 + 1