The typical "where do i start" question

dsw222

Joined Jan 11, 2011
Hey guys... I'm new to the forum and this looks like a great resource for me.

I would like some guidance as to where to start.

I went to Penn State for computer engineering, where I had courses using Motorola chips, assembly language, MIPS, etc. Now I am a Software Engineer and work on coding C software for devices like PowerPC boards and VXWorks.

I would like to start my own side project which would basically be a layer lower than what I am used to working with. I want to take a microcontroller and interface with several input/output chips such as an accelerometer, a temperature sensor, GPS receiver, etc and dump that information to an SD card.

Do you have any suggestions for a chip (or multiple chips) that would have adequate I/O ports for my needs?

I looked into the PIC24H series, but I'm concerned that it might not be what I need for interfacing to so many devices. (I downloaded MPLAB with the C plugin last night and went over a few example projects... the software seems decent enough to me, and i like that they give it you a free version... so I was leaning towards a Microchip Technologies product)

I'd also like a recommendation for a programmer if possible.... I don't really want to spend hundreds of dollars on this, so all I really want is something that will allow me to download code to a microcontroller (but not just one single type of microcontroller, so i can use it for multiple projects). What do you guys use?

Thanks for any help!

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
You worry me.

You say you are a college grad, with a degree in computer science and currently work in that field, but don't know about the commonly available micro's and their pin outs/capabilities?

??

Microchip is a good one, and I personally have the Pickit3 programmer, which again, is very cheap.

dsw222

Joined Jan 11, 2011
You worry me.