The, Everything inductor question.

EPhantom

Joined Oct 12, 2009
So I'm new here, I am a sophomore in college that is a little obsessed with Electronics (brought here by a professor), and I have been wanting to do a ton of projects but am unable to due to lack of knowledge. I was wondering if someone could give me information (or the location of a place to obtain the information) about inductors. Not just how they alter a signal as it passes through it (as I noticed the other section of this site has) but also about the magnetic field that passes though/parallel to it.

I have been wanting to create some devices that require solenoids and motors, but the ones that I would need would be on a MUCH larger scale than anyone would be willing to make. (IE I can't buy them) :(

So I don't know anything about how thick wires would need to be, what frequencies would need to be sent through them, how long they can run, or anything like that.

I was also hoping that I would be able to get some information about how magnetic fields interact with each other. I have asked some physics professors here and didn't get anything out of them. :(

(currently in digital electronics and retaking calculus, though I have high school experience in electronics)

Thank you in advance.

EPhantom

Joined Oct 12, 2009
One thing that I want to make is a large thrust fan... It's for a really weird project. It would need to be able to generate anywhere from 75 to 200 pounds of thrust...

I also want to be able to make my own solenoids for a coil gun project that a friend and I want to make. We want to make it so a solenoid turns off as the projectile gets to the edge of a coil.

Another is to create a levitation inductance melter that can very intensity and frequency.

IE: starter projects so I can work on whatever I want later on and know what I'm doing.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007