testing fuse experiment

elimenohpee

Joined Oct 26, 2008
I have a set of fuses I need to test the characteristics to see if they will be implemented in one of my design boards that routes power. The fuses need to be rated for 35A, but need to support in-rush current. They will be used on a 24V rail powersupply. I'm slightly nervous about how to set up the experiment, because according to my calculations, I'd need a 0.6Ω load capable of disappating over 900W :eek:.

If you had to test a fuse to ensure correct operation, how would you set up a load capable of supporting the high power levels?

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
If I had to do this, I'd use an Allen-Bradley pot that I have, as it's rated to 1.6 kW continuous and it adjusts from 0.18 Ω to about 15 Ω. The inductance is less than a μH at all resistances. So such beasts exist...

If I didn't have that pot, then I'd consider making my own load. Since I'd want to do it on the cheap (I'm a home hobbyist), I'd use some Harbor Freight 0.041" diameter stainless steel safety wire that is about 0.1 Ω per 11 cm (it's about $6 per pound). If you want to spend more money, Nichrome or Chromel might be good choices (or Monel if you can find it). I'd find a 1 to 2 cm diameter insulating tubing (ceramic or Pyrex tube preferred) and wind the needed length of wire on the tubing, using an Ayrton-Perry or bifilar winding to minimize inductance. Then I'd immerse the thing in a tub of distilled water to improve heat transfer.

If you have an R&D budget, you could instead use some ceramic fish beads to insulate things. They work well and give the ability to make reasonable-radii bends. I'd still immerse the thing in water though.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009