Temperature Regulator

ModoExpress

Joined Nov 1, 2009
Hey guys,

I'm a 2nd year engineering student, I'm working on my generally mechanical based project but I've come across a minor electrical problem that you guys may be able to help me with

Basically, I have heat blankets (850W) that plug straight into a wall outlet... I need to regulate its temp at 70°C. I also have a thermocouple.

I figure I can make a PID controller with a pot, op-amps and a few other minor components. My knowledge is pretty limited on designing electrical stuff, so I was wondering if you guys could help me implement http://www.ecircuitcenter.com/Circuits/op_pid/op_pid.htm to what I'm doing, or suggest easier ways to do this w/o spending very much money?

Thanks!

Bychon

Joined Mar 12, 2010
I built this 30 years ago and it's still working! I changed a couple of resistors and it is keeping my bedroom at 70 degrees with a space heater attached.

The basic premise is that a 723 voltage regulator chip has a voltage reference and an op-amp. Add a 10 k thermistor and change the hysteresis resistor to a lower value so it snaps on and off, sharply. I expect you'll ask questions to clear up defects in the scanned image. I await your replay.

Bychon

Joined Mar 12, 2010
ps, the plastic box is not good enough. You must use a metal box and add a slab of aluminum to keep the triac cool. I changed the 7.5 k resistor to 12.4 k to get 70 degrees at "3" on the dial. (The dial is labeled 0 to 10.)

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
If you want cheap and simple, a bimetallic switch to turn the power on and off (like what's used in a kitchen oven) is usable. Once place to find one might be an old space heater (or check at the local building center or hardware store). If it can't switch the load directly, you could make it drive a solid state relay.