TEC Cell Help

shadowvolts

Joined Jun 22, 2012
Hi all,

I am a chemistry student and I am building a temperature controlled heat cell for an experiment.

I am using a peltier element. I want to control the current based on a variable voltage. The voltage is computer controlled from 0-10v And I use a thermistor to get the temperature of the aluminum cell. This is all controlled through labview. I need a circuit that can switch the way the current is running through The peltier and also drive different amounts of currents based on the variable voltage. I am also able to output a voltage to switch relays.

The items I have at my disposal.
- DC power supply with 12v 5v and a variable supply 0-30v
-TIP120 darlington transistors
-5vDc coil rated relays
-lm741cn op amps.
Peltier elements rated at 12v
-mje 2955t Pnp transistors.
Resistors I have plenty of. <1Ω-1MΩ

Thanks

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You cannot control current and voltage at the same time.
Choose current or voltage and the TEC will determine the other based on Ohm's Law.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
You might like my calorimeter project, just look in the completed projects area.

A TEC consumes a LOT of current, and you haven't mentioned the capacity of your power supply. You may need to limit the TEC to what your supply can handle. Running at the max isn't a good idea.

shadowvolts

Joined Jun 22, 2012
MrChips- the voltage will not change going through the peltier only the current, I just need a way to drive the current
Wayneh- I have looked at the project before but Its a bit over my head. The power supply limits at 3A. Also I have a tight budget and time constraints and am limited to what I have.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You do not understand.
Ohm's Law states that I = V/R

If you change V, I will change.
If you want to control I you have to adjust V.

shadowvolts

Joined Jun 22, 2012