TDA2822M 'custom' 1W audio amp problems

-Excalibur-

Joined Jul 20, 2008
Hello everyone, this is my first time on this forum.:)

I'm building my first circuit, a 1W audio amp with the TDA2822M IC. The only modification I've made is swapping which pin the audio input connects to, i.e. 8 and 5 instead of 7 and 6, but I'm having some problems:

Note - DC in is 4 x 1.2V 1600 mA double A batteries in series.

1.) The pots are being used as variable resistors, though not in place of the normal resistors in the original TDA2822M circuit. The problem is that when I increase the resistance, the IC heats up beyond what seems appropriate, i.e. too hot to touch in around 10 s. When there is less resistance, all is fine.

2.) The amp seems to be in overdrive, I can't even turn it all the way up without distortion when the signal is as small as the leakage audio from my clock radio.

The speakers connected are 2 x 8 Ohm 27 mm.
Also, please ignore the red parts in the circuit diagram, they have been excluded from the circuit.

Any help greatly appreciated, and if you need more info, please ask and I will try and find it for you.

http://www.st.com/stonline/books/pdf/docs/1464.pdf - Original
http://www.e-dan.co.uk/electronics/TDA2822.html - Different version of original

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Make sure that the output capacitors are good. If either are conducting, you could get some pretty high currents in the output of the amp.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
The amplifier will work perfectly if you connect its inputs properly as shown on the datasheet. The amplifier is not an opamp. Even an opamp won't work in your circuit.

The inputs pins 5 and 8 are part of the AC and DC negative feedback and must not be shorted to ground through your pots.
The real inputs must have a resistor to ground.

With your 4.8V supply then the output power will be next to nothing. But since your "speakers" are tiny then they will sound like little earphones.