Talk me out of a new toy - Rigol DP832 power supply

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
Someone please talk some sense into me. I'm putting way too much thought into a Rigol DP832 bench power supply that I probably don't need. For a hobbyist level person, is there any reason why I should or should not have this? How about if I ignore the price? I have a degree in computer engineering, but I've worked 99% in software my entire professional career (the last almost 20 years) and I'm trying to re-learn the hardware side for fun, and to make a few bucks creating widgets as a fun side job. Lower voltage stuff; arduinos, stepper motors, radios, etc.. fun stuff. As I get back into it, are there any real reasons that I would be more productive with this type of power supply, vs. a simple one knob adjustable voltage power supply? I realize it's more convenient than having to use a couple DMM's to measure power, but any other reasons?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
No hobbyist needs a $450 power supply. Just use wall warts, build something using an ATX power supply, or roll your own.

If you were really in to electronics, you'd be building your own.

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014
Have you ever looked on EBay for used power supplies?? You can easily beat this deal by a factor of 4 on a used brand name power supple. Besides......IT IS JUST A POWER SUPPLY...........they have been making them for years with very few changes. I suggest you buy a $100 used power supply and spend the other $350 on a modern O-Scope like a Rigol DS1052E ($329). Two birds, one stone.

Last edited:

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
Great idea on the used stuff, I'll take a look. Too late on the oscilloscope though, I picked up a Rigol DS2072a and it has been great! :)

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
No hobbyist needs a $450 power supply. Just use wall warts, build something using an ATX power supply, or roll your own.

If you were really in to electronics, you'd be building your own.