Tactile switch help

pbedford83

Joined Nov 5, 2010
Hello everyone,

This is my first post here, and I need some advice before I do anything with an issue of mine.

I have a laptop computer which I am modifying, part of the modification means relocating the power switch.

After checking, the power switch is a small 4 terminal Tactile switch mounted to a PCB. the PCB can be removed and replaced easily, My question is:

Would soldering wire to relocate the switch cause any detremental effects tot he switch or the PCB itself... As I cant find any other way around it as the laptop will be housed in a metal case..

I Will insert an image below of the actual switch in question, the powwer switch is the far left switch.

Thanks.

Paul

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hi Paul,
Welcome to AAC!

I have no knowledge of your soldering skills. If they are not good, or particularly if you have never soldered before, then you need to practice quite a bit on some cheap or scrap/salvaged parts before you attempt it.

If you don't have such things, Electronic Goldmine is an OK place to get some cheap parts to practice with.

You also need to be aware of ESD, or electrostatic discharge. For you to even start to feel the effects of ESD takes around 3,000 volts. For you to hear a snap or pop during discharge, it takes around 10,000v. You can kill PC components with only 30v of static discharge.

Low temperatures and low humidity make damage due to ESD very likely. High temps and high humidity make the chance of ESD much lower, but you should always wear an anti-static wrist strap, have an anti-static mat on your workbench, and connect them to earth ground.

pbedford83

Joined Nov 5, 2010
Hi, thanks for the reply.

I been building prijects for some time now, my soldering is quite good from what I can gather, although I have limited experience with these switches, ive never soldered one that was allready attatched to a PCB