synchronous to async RS-232 serial Converter

thomaskuhn

Joined Jan 21, 2009
I am performing some initial research into developing a small box that can bi-directionally convert synchronous (clocked) RS-232 to the more standard asynchronous format than be used to interface with a variety of standard async serial interface devices such as Serial over IP, desktop computers, etc. Please note that I am a SW engineer, but have a decent understanding of digital signaling and some electronics knowledge under my belt, but not to this extent.

Unfortunately the modem that we need to interface to still uses sync serial data. The communications to/from the modem would be half duplex. The rates can be any of the following: 2400, 4800, 8000, 9600, 16k, 19.2k, 32k, 38.8k, and 56k. This device would have to provide a clock to the modem. On the other side of the device, the async side would be a standard,say 56K 8-1-n, IO. I am not sure if we would have to modify the async speed or could leave it static at the highest rate.

I am looking to see if:
1. Is this feasible or am I overlooking something?
2. Is the a micro-controller that would provide the majority of the capabilities needed for this solution with a minimum of external components?
3. What would a solutions high level block diagram consist of. I am guessing a USART/UART, PIC microcontroller (or other), power, IO for speed configuration, clock.
4. Could you point out some specific components that could be applicable to this effort? There are so many models of microcontrollers out there that I would never know how to downselect.

I appreciate the help. Thanks.
Tom

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Use an MCU that has at least two USARTs or one each, USART and UART.

If you are communicating at different rates you may have to consider how you will implement buffering and flow control.

thomaskuhn

Joined Jan 21, 2009