Switching with Mosfets (3A automotive)

JoshK

Joined Dec 24, 2009
I want to switch up to 3 amps on my 12 volt system using solid state. Of course with the engine running that means 13.8 volts. My trigger for this is a 5 volt logic level signal that can either sink 8.2ma or source 3.0ma. This should be way more than I need.

I need to send out power when activated. Space is an issue, so small is good. Fast is not necessary, as it will likely be on for hours at a time.

I've never used mosfets before, but I did a lot of research and I don't doubt they are what I want.

I need help learning to choose because there are so many available and the specs are for ideal conditions, not my conditions.

I have played with a mosfet and an LED and like it, but after my research I question what I thought I knew. I thought for sure this was a job for a p-chan but now I am unsure if i can use a n-chan.

Can anyone offer guidelines or rules or just explain what I am missing in the spec sheets.

Thank.

JoshK

Joined Dec 24, 2009
I didn't mention it will be taking 10 second breaks every 10 minutes, but as far as heat concerns go this isn't much of a rest.

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Window motors are not designed for continuous duty; you'll burn them up if you try to run them for that long. You might run them for 30 seconds, and then let them cool for 1-2 minutes; they would need to be connected to a heat sink of sorts. Usually, the sheet metal in the door provides the heat sinking.

If you just need to operate the motor in a single direction, a single N-ch power MOSFET can act as a switch on the low side of the load. If you need to be able to reverse the motor, then you will need an H-bridge.

You might consider a pre-made H-bridge such as these: http://www.pololu.com/catalog/category/82
...and this one in particular is reasonably low-cost, compact, and appears to exceed your stated current requirements:
http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/756