Switching transistor and higher voltages.

zarozinia

Joined Sep 9, 2013
I am new to Arduino and electronics and hoping for some help with a project.

I created a blinking LED by switching high / low through arduino on an output pin connected to an LED. I controlled the blink rate by a potentiometer.

What I would like to try now is turning a transistor that is amplifying audio on and off to produce a stutter effect an the passing audio. I was thinking of turning the collector voltage on and off. The audio transistor is powered by a seperate 9vdc power supply.

I have found this which appeared to at least suggest what I am thinking maybe possible.

http://www.w9xt.com/page_microdesign_pt12_hv_pnp_switching.html

Where the load is connected to the switched 12v I would connect the collector of the npn audio amplifier (9v though).

As the calculations are based on a .5 amp load whereas mine will be just another npn transistor I am at a loss trying to work out the component values.

I really would appreciate help and guidance.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Why not use FET/Mosfet, starting with the 2n7000 that was made to interface directly to TTL/CMOS to up to 60v 200ma load or the low voltage gate Mosfets IRL520/530?
Max.

zarozinia

Joined Sep 9, 2013
Max, I am a total noob at electronics so I am just hoping to scape together this project, I have no idea what a cmos is, but I will read up.

The audio is from a seperate source (a sampler), goes into the transistor/pre-amp and then onto a seperate power amplifier.

I know I can fire out 5v on an output pin on the Arduino board, and switch that on and off. I tried using that 5v supply putting it to the collector of the the pre-amp transistor, but the audio became full of weird noise, it did produce a stuttering effect mind you.

So I then wondered if I could use the Arduino 5v out to switch another transistor on allowing a seperate 9v supply to reach the collector of the pre-amp transistor.