Switching BC 547 with CMOS signal output

formax

Joined Nov 26, 2010
can someone please help me with the values of the following Schematic?
I want to switch three relays using the three outputs (pin 4,5,6) of 4060B
R1?
R2?
or please advice me if the components should be re arranged or should be added or removed.

formax

Joined Nov 26, 2010
Im going to use this for light three pairs of Christmas bulbs strings at three different rates. Yeah its little bit odd. but this way i can use any type of bulbs or diodes through the relays.

i selected this circuit because as i know, (Im a beginner) 4060 has a different pulse rate for each output. i think it will look nice when three flashing pairs of strings sparkling on my Xmas tree than four channel running system?. No?
its hard to me understand those formulas. i appreciate if you have any suggestions. if this circuit is wrong,

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
A 3 volt relay requires a lot of coil current. Most of that current will go toward unnecessary heating of R2. You should try to match your relay to your supply voltage, or vice versa. If you do this, R2 is unnecessary.
Even 6*1.5V AA batteries will not last long with 3V relays. Also, BC547 may not work, depending on the coil current requirement of your 3V relays.
The 4060 will have a square wave (50% duty cycle) on each pin. Pin 5 will have the highest frequency. Pin 4 will switch at exactly half the rate of pin 5. Pin 6 will switch at exactly half the rate of pin 4. For example, if the LEDs driven by pin 5 flash 4 times per second, then the pin 4 LEDs will flash twice per second, and the pin 6 LEDs will switch once per second. You can change the flash rates by changing the setting of the 47k pot (variable resistance), but the 4:2:1 ratios will remain the same. You can change the range covered by the pot by changing the 0.1uF capacitor.
Is that what you want?

formax

Joined Nov 26, 2010