Switch for 2 way radio project

robbo99

Joined Aug 20, 2013
Hi, all. I am by no means an electronics expert so please be gentle!

I need a switch that sits in a circuit with two inputs (input 1= N/A, input 2 = 2 way radio) and a single speaker output.

I want the radio input only to be triggered when a signal is received on the radio or when a user hits a button. So in effect input 1 is always on unless input 2 is triggered by a radio signal or physical depression of a button. Once the button is released or the radio signal stops, i want the switch to flick back to input 1.

Any ideas on such a switch?

I have had this suggested to me, but looking for an expert http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/FS/FSA5157.pdf

thanks

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The manual button operation is easy compared to the "automatic" switching based on a radio signal.

Are you thinking this will allow you to listen to whatever you like until someone comes on the radio, at which time your tunes or whatever are replaced by the radio signal? What sort of 2-way radio is it?

robbo99

Joined Aug 20, 2013
hi, yes thats right signal 1 is audio which needs to be always on unless triggered off by an incoming radio signal.
radios are just standard 2 way radios, nothing special.

Got any suggestions on the switch?
Thanks

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
What you need, I believe, is a form of squelch. If this function is not built into your radios already, then you need to make your own. I'm not the person to help with that.

I think if you can get a squelch function working, that on/off signal can be used to switch the audio source as you need.

That switch you linked appears to be meant for switching the power output of the audio system. I would prefer to switch at the level of the input signal, so there is one amp and one speaker, but two signal sources. Would that make sense on your arrangement?

robbo99

Joined Aug 20, 2013
Hi wayneh,