suspect products

malcolm

Joined Mar 6, 2010
Having designed a 6th order sallen key butterworth low pass I'm trying to build it, so far with limited success.

I suspect faulty dual rail quad op amps. How do I test for functionality.
If I plug in a 14 pin DIL chip to a +/-ve 12v supply completely open circuit I would expect the power rails to remain. They don't, however, the negative rail goes 12v positive, differential at or virtually zero. Whats going on?

Please appreciate I'm a total novice at this.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Does the DIP in question, probably a dual or quad op amp, get hot with power applied? Are you certain that your circuit is assembled properly, with no component leads touching or solder bridges? A hot op amp may point to a shorted output or a power supply in oscillation.

What happens if you put a spare op amp in the socket?

I have seen a problem arise with some nonamo regulators. Sometimes one of the 7X12 regulators will not start up when the other does, leading to a condition similar to the one you describe. If swapping the op amp and verifying the circuit does not help, change the regulators.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Do both the +12 and -12v rails have capacitors to ground, at both the regulator outputs and at the opamp Vcc/Vee inputs? Generally, 0.1uF (100nF) caps are used.

If you are using 7x12 regulators, beware that they may oscillate at high frequency if you do not use the recommended input and output capacitors, generally 0.33uF (330nF) on the input, and 0.1uF (100nF) on the output.

It is generally not a good idea to leave the inputs of opamps floating (ie: no path to ground) as that can cause them to oscillate at high frequency. This causes high power consumption and heating.