Suitable microcontroller for wireless project?

SethK

Joined Jun 8, 2013
As I'm new to microcontrollers, I am looking for the cheapest one to put in a wireless transmitter/receiver for a few kB of information at a time. (small microcontroller!)

Also, could I get an explanation of how a microcontroller is able to connect to computer via USB? (Using a program memory uploader bootloader as well)

If you want cheap, try the MSP430 Launchpad by Texas Instruments. You can get a normal development board thingie for ~$11. I don't know how much a wireless transmitter/receiver addition would cost, though, nor do I know if there's even a wireless accessory made for it.

If you want something with a very large community of users and is inexpensive (but not the cheapest), try an Arduino. If you assemble an Arduino from separate parts and stick it on a breadboard, I've heard you could make one for as little as $8 (not including any required accessories, this is just the individual microcontroller circuit. You would still need a power supply, programmer, and all that stuff). You should be able to get a complete starter kit for an Arduino for about $50 to $120 (depending on the amount of stuff in it). I'm quite sure there is a wireless accessory available for this, but you'll have to purchase that separately.

Personally, I'd go with the Arduino. It's inexpensive, open source, and has a much larger community than the MSP430. Besides, you should be able to pick up an Arduino at any Radioshack; I've never seen an MSP430 in there.

No, I've never actually used a microcontroller myself. I am interested in getting started (like you), though, so I figured I'd pass on the information I've found.

SethK

Joined Jun 8, 2013
bance,

would these transmitters be able to communicate with computers? or are they only to each other?

what wireless component would be able to communicate with computers? (I know about bluetooth but I am looking for cheap and small chips)

bance

Joined Aug 11, 2012