Stupid Transistor Question for MOSFET

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
Hi all i am having a mental lapse here with some basic transistor stuff

I get on a regular BJT you apply voltage to the base and you get flow from collector to emitter

I have no experience with FET stuff and I'm curious why i cant get a simple LED to light up with a MOSFET P channel

I have 5 volts waiting on S

I have a 100ohm resistor and an LED connected to the drain and then to ground.

I put 5 volts to the gate and the led turn on. When i remove the 5V from the gate the LED stays on unless i touch the gate to ground. Is this normal? Im confused? I thought they worked the same way as a BJT did?

Can someone just give me a quick 3 sentences on what im doing wrong with out getting to technical?

Thanks

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
OK thats kinda what i was thinking

If i use a pull down resistor to pull the gate to ground i get the following

If i give the gate 5v the LED goes off

If i remove the 5v from the gate and allow the pull down resistor to do its job the LED turns on

Why does this seem backwards to me?

Its a P channel so doesn't +5V on the gate turn it on? Not the other way around?

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
Hi all i am having a mental lapse here with some basic transistor stuff

I get on a regular BJT you apply voltage to the base and you get flow from collector to emitter

I have no experience with FET stuff and I'm curious why i cant get a simple LED to light up with a MOSFET P channel

I have 5 volts waiting on S

I have a 100ohm resistor and an LED connected to the drain and then to ground.

I put 5 volts to the gate and the led turn on. When i remove the 5V from the gate the LED stays on unless i touch the gate to ground. Is this normal? Im confused? I thought they worked the same way as a BJT did?

Can someone just give me a quick 3 sentences on what im doing wrong with out getting to technical?

Thanks