Stuck need help

Locruid

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I am A school bus tech in Oregon. It was recently brought to our attn that we needed a single Flashing Green Light for when our wheelchair lift doors are open. they currently have a constant red light. So we ordered a few small green LED lights (for automobile) and some Flasher units (typical car style for signal lights). I hooked them up and THEN figured out they dont pull enough juice to cause the flasher unit to initialize the Flash. As a temp backup, I installed a DC motor to cause enough current draw to activate the flash but really dont want to keep the motors in the Buses permanently lol.

Anyways, it was suggested to get 1/4W Resistors and tie them in. I did that but now the bulb wont even work at all. With resistor no go, without resistor Solid green light.

Would prefer the CHEAPEST alternative or maybe im not hooking these things up right. I have the ground on the frame and the positive goes to the resistor then to the Flasher unit.

not very knowledgeable in this area but I can rebuild the 444 or 365 in that bus lol

ANY help would be appreciated. would like to use the equipment I already have but if one of you professionals can steer me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

eeboy

Joined Sep 27, 2007
First off... I don't know much about the flasher so I will assume what you have said about a minimum operating current is correct. If this is indeed the case, a simple resistor should be sufficient.