Stocking your E-workbench?

Rbeckett

Joined Sep 3, 2010
I am still relatively new to electronics and have been following the E-book pretty faithfully and have decided it is time to outfit and stock up a proper electronics experiment work bench. I am interested in what would be considered a good basic selection of components such as transistors, IC's and such. I have a very good basic selection of LED's, Caps, diodes, and resistors as well as some very basic 39XX series transistors, LM3XX series regulators and 551 timers already. If an individual was interested in stocking a fairly complete bench with a good general selection of components for basic and advanced experimentation, what components would be a good starting point, since I have already encountered a need to place a project on hold while waiting for additional parts to arrive (very frustrating indeed). I have assigned an arbritrary limit of 50 USD (excluding freight and handling) for the initial order and each subsequent order, although that value could be somewhat variable based on the need for particular high value components. It is my intention to build this selection monthly over some period of time, perhaps years so any thoughts or recomendations would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!!
Bob

I should add that I already also have a Beckman osciloscope and function generator as well as a myriad of DVOM's and probes in addition to a good quality soldering station and third hand devices for manipulating boards and components.

Last edited:

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
That really depends on what circuits are you going to build in the future. I would get some fixed 78xx an 79xx regulators, a few comparators like lm339, and few opamps like tl072 or ne5532. Some power transistors like bd139/140 could be handy, maybe some mosfets like IRF240.
The selection is wide and different for different applications.