stepper motor driver

blob-79

Joined Feb 26, 2011
Hey everyone.

Im working on a project that requires me to make a stepper motor driver that will go forward and reverse automatically. Im hopeing to have it adjustable as far as controll over rpm, and time between switching from forward to reverse, and back again. If at all possible I would also like to have it able to dwell between forward and reverse cycles, also adjustable. If anyone could help me out, it would be much appreciated. Looking for schematics of some sort.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Is this an assignment for a robotics class?

As far as the stepper motor, you didn't give any specifications.
What is it's current and voltage ratings, or power ratings, and/or the windings resistance?
Is it a bipolar (4 wire) unipolar (5 or 6 wire) type motor, or might it be a BLDC motor?

blob-79

Joined Feb 26, 2011
No this isnt for any sort of class or anything. Just a project

Im a beginner, not sure on the full specs of the motor I have, it has 8 wires coming out of it. thats all I know. I would be willing to find a different motor if required. It was labled as 9volt stepper motor.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Use a resistance meter and check the wires to find which ones go to each winding. Also you will find out how many windings you have and if they are center tapped. If the motor DOES have a label, then use the model number in a google search box, along with "stepper motor". This should get you some info on the motor.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
With 8 wires, it'll be a universal type stepper motor. That means it can be wired as a bipolar motor in series or parallel, or a unipolar motor in series or parallel.

If you have a part number and manufacturer, that would be a big help.

Sometimes, wires on those types of motors are colored to help in getting the pairs and polarities right, like red and red w/white, green and green w/white, etc.