stepper motor driver control circuit

dingding

Joined Jul 23, 2008
hiya,

i made a thread a few weeks ago and then forgot about it, thanks for the help people gave me even though i didn't respond!

i have decided to use a stepper motor in my project. it will be used to rotate a beam through 360 degrees very slowly (about 1.5 rpm) then when it reaches a full circle, reverse direction and rotate back to the start position. i found a stepper driver circuit which uses 5V inputs to control step and direction and so now i need a circuit which will control these inputs.

unfortunately i am still an absolute beginner and have no clue how to do anything as far as designing circuits goes, i can solder them and that's about it! could you give me some tips about what sorta thing i need to make? i'll keep my eye on this post a lot more as you guys seem to be super quick at replying!

thanks! Alex

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Have you selected a stepper motor for your project? Can you provide a part number for the motor you have selected?

Also can you provide a sketch of the stepper motor driver circuit you mentioned?

hgmjr

dingding

Joined Jul 23, 2008
yeah i already have the motor... it's an astrosyn bipolar 1.8dg per step. 9-12V 0.16A. it says Y129 on the back but i dont know about a proper part number.

this is the driver i was looking at getting;
http://www.quasarelectronics.com/3187.htm

so i'd like to build some sort of timing circuit which will provide inputs to this driver. there are step and direction inputs so i guess i need 2 timing circuits?

one which will provide a pulse every 0.12s to the step input so that the motor will half-step one position forwards. (i'll be using the half step mode on the driver)
The second will provide a pulse every 45 seconds to the direction input so that the motor changes stepping direction.

can i make some sort of monostable 555 timing circuit?

thanks again!

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005