Step-Up Voltage??

goldeneye123454321

Joined Oct 1, 2008
Hey, iv been messing around with circuits for a while, but im still a noob to the things one should know. But anyways, i need a circuit, relatively small one, to boots a 5.1 ~ 5.2 VDC up to 12 ~ 13 VDC. I need it because i am building a circuit that powers 2, 12VDC fans. I would like to make it so that it has a pot to contol the fans power, a bar graph LED read out to show how much power is being produced, and swich to choose fan 1, or fan 2, or both. Also there will be 3 LED light that correspond to one fan. The input Voltage will be from a cell phone charger @ 5 VDC. Any help or advice would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
You need what is called a boost converter to bring the 5V up to 12V. You need to ensure that the 5V source has sufficient power to drive your fans. So, the product of the 5V with current must exceed the product of the 12V X current rating of fan. You should also consider the inefficiency of the boost regulator.

Then, you can rig up a cheap LM3914 circuit to do the bargraph display. This is if you can find one, I am not sure of a suitable replacement.

I'm not really sure how to power the fans without knowing more. Are these computer fans?

Steve

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007
Based on the Cell phone chargers I have, Their output max is about 1A at 5V.
So after boosting to 12V you will probably have less, far less. If the two fans are computer cooling fans you may need a minimum of 350mA each, most likely more, depends on fan and size of fan. Best bet might be to start by powering the fans with 12V and measure the current they take to run, double it, and whatever that totals you will need current from your boots IC of at least that.

It would be helpful to know the current draw from these fans if you can manage to obtain this. Sometimes they will print this info on the fan label, but often they do not.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007