Standalone programmer for windows 7.

ron roberts

Joined May 7, 2008
I’ve probably asked this question before; I’m new to program and desperately need help on finding a standalone program for programming ATmega168 in basic that will run under windows 7. I haven’t a clue on what I need to get started I’ve downloaded loads of free programs for programming but don’t seem to be what I need, in other wards the programs I have downloaded seem to be for software programming for computer programs and not for microcontrollers.

A lot of the free programs don’t seem to run correctly on windows 7.

I’ve downloaded mikroC PRO for AVR but again having problems with it running on windows 7, also I find it a bit over the top for me.

AvrStudio 4 looks interesting but having problems fining a download link that works, loads of pagers that just go round in circles, even though I click on the download links for AvrStudio 4 it just go’s to another page with more links. Any help on a direct download link would be helpful.

What I’m looking for if possible is software that will let me type in my instructions in basic then compile it into something like an HEX file for loading up to the microcontroller.

I really don’t want any software that’s tied to a particular programmer or any software that demands I must include there info within my programs.

Please help.

Last edited:

oxydol010

Joined Jan 20, 2010