Sound Reactive LEDs

Sizer

Joined Nov 4, 2012
Firstly Hi!...noob here....

Im trying to do a project with my two lads and dont know a great deal about electronics. I know what we want to acheive, I think I know whats missing but dont have the knowledge to work out the particulars.

Ive attached what we have worked out so far.

We want:

10 LED's to light up to music (all at the same time not a bar type thing).
To be able to turn it off and on.
To be able to turn off the light syncing leaving all LED's lit.
To be able to adjust the Microphone Sensitivty.

At the moment I believe the power from the Microphone needs to be amplified but I dont know how or how much to amplify it by. Id also like to know the workings out behind it I dont just want a solution, I want to learn.

The transistor we are using is a TIP31c. (VCEO 100, IC 3, PTOT 40)
http://www.maplin.co.uk/standard-bipolar-npn-power-transistors-33878

The Mic :
(0dB = 1V/µbar at 1kHz, Vcc = 4.5V, Rl = 1kΩ) 60dB ±3dB
http://www.maplin.co.uk/omni-directional-sub-miniature-microphone-4565

I would appreciate any help or nudges in the right direction.

Attachments

Externet

Joined Nov 29, 2005
Tune to a radio station at your home stereo. Listen normally any program.

Turn volume to zero.

Connect two leds in counterparallel to one channel of your home stereo amplifier speaker output, can be together with its speaker connected.

Very slowly raise the volume, until leds flicker. Stop there. {One step at a time}

Counterparallel means like these:
http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSdSACs4Hm5rx4G2sKmrJeFrRbIOa5XFG59n0u225N0RtIGoOOk

The features to turn all off; steady on, or flickering takes a 3 position switch; that will be explained later.
The 10 leds instead of 2 will come after.

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
Yes, the mic is a condensor mic and needs to be amplified and biased with a voltage.

Check out this link:
http://www.rason.org/Projects/hbmic/hbmic.htm