Sound card oscilloscope voltage follower

rhlee

Joined May 5, 2012
Hi,

I'm pretty new to electronics, having skimmed though the AAE course notes over the weekend. I'm making a buffer so I can use my line in as an oscilloscope.

This is the circuit I'm will hope to use for each channel. http://www.sciencetronics.com/geocities/electronics/projects/soundcard_osci.html
The reason why I chose this circuit was because it was the simplest one I could find.

Even though the author says it's a voltage follower, what I would like to know is what is the gain of the op amp. Would it be unity? Or does the resistor on the negative feedback loop reduce the gain?

I'm assuming is does reduce the voltage, but I'm not sure how to calculate the voltage wrt gnd at the inverting input. (Unless it's a question of current. However the op amp is not a current-feedback op amp.)

Richard

Mark_T

Joined Feb 7, 2012
The amp is unity gain, the 2k feedback resistor has no effect on gain as it is the only connection to the negative input ignoring the cap for now. As op amp inputs are very high impedance then the resulting current in the 2k is tiny and hence the voltage drop is small. Maybe somethng like 20nA which equals 40uV.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
It's a voltage follower as described. The op-amp will work to keep the voltage at the "-" input the same as whatever it's seeing on the "+" input.

One thing to contemplate with this design is what is ground. If it's battery powered and floating relative to your sound card, fine. But if there's another path to true ground somewhere, you might fall victim to a ground loop. Always measure voltages before hooking up different power supplies.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
The gain of the opamp is unity because it has 100% negative feedback. Usually the 2k resistor is a piece of wire and the 100nF capacitor is not used.

rhlee

Joined May 5, 2012