Sound Activated LED

uday159

Joined Apr 25, 2012
Hey guys

I need some help with a circuit i am looking to build for school.

I want to power a circuit that i have previously built that currently has a switch, but i want to replace that switch with something to make it sound activated.

I am really new to circuits so I would really appreciate the most information I could get.

The circuit has 2 leds that flash in sequence and i want them to flash when the circuit detects sound. I understand that I need an electret mic, but I dont know how to make the preamp and how it should connect to my circuit.

russpatterson

Joined Feb 1, 2010
If you Google 'electret mic circuit' you'll get a bunch of ideas.

Looks like a straight forward schematic using an op-amp here:

http://www.alanmacek.com/usb/

Then put the output to an analog input pin on your uC and then trigger when you read a value over 128, or whatever works for what you want (sound level).

uday159

Joined Apr 25, 2012
If you Google 'electret mic circuit' you'll get a bunch of ideas.

Looks like a straight forward schematic using an op-amp here:

http://www.alanmacek.com/usb/

Then put the output to an analog input pin on your uC and then trigger when you read a value over 128, or whatever works for what you want (sound level).
Could you explain the last part in simpler terms. This is literaly my 3rd circuit project and have mostly only used transistors capcitors and LEDs.

Or could you send me a link for how I could do this. Im really new to this stuff.

uday159

Joined Apr 25, 2012
Will do tommorow.

Gotta get it from my laptop and its in my locker at school.

I can take a picture of the circuit, dont know how much it will help

Ill post it here soon.

*Edit* Cant take a picture not neat at all. Anyone know a circuit maker program online?

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008