sophomore circuits lab project : analog computer

lupinkr

Joined May 17, 2011
Hello everyone,

I hesitated to post in this section because I couldn't determine if it was more appropriate to post it in the project sections or in the homework. Since this is a relatively simple project and counts as homework, I posted it here. However if I am posting in the wrong section I apologize in advance to the mod team.

I am currently a student in electrical engineering, sophomore. The project is to make an analog computer that solves 2nd order differential equations, with a feedback system.

For the 1st week, we had to build the system in multisim and run the simulation (for pre-experiment report) then make some simple measurements like Vmax and settling time.

I managed the first week to design and run simulation (please refer to attachment) of the system, as well as build it on the breadboard and check the output on the oscilloscope.

Now, for the 2nd week, we are asked to add a feedback circuit to the system. Here, I wasn't quite sure about what to do. Following the diagram, and from what I understood, I need a summer op-amp that will sum the amplified integrated output, with the step function source, to be the new input to the system ?

Well, if someone could please tell me if my assumptions are right, and if so, if the circuit is right.

Thank you ! :)

Attachments :
doc file : description of the project and instructions.
week1.png : my system design.
week2.png : my designed system + feedback design.

Attachments

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Is that .doc file an official problem announcement from your school written originally in english? If so, you should really question your professor's credibility. It's english is awful.

As far as the exercise is concerned, I would feel safer if you added all of the feedbacks a, b and z in a summer OpAmp in the leftmost part of the screen.