[SOLVED] Winecooler with FX-101-PCB, power supply issues

PEOPLES

Joined Jun 5, 2024
Good morning,
my first post here and found you guys via google searching for a winecooler-repair. I'm Michael (German );)and living near Sap Paulo (Brazil) right now.

My girlfriend got a winecooler from friends for free, and they told us, it stops working after some time. I tried and yepp, stops working.
I have some basic knowledge regarding analog electronics, I have a cheap dig. Oszi (china) and some Uni-T instruments, to measure current, temperature, etc.

Fault:
When I plug in the cooler, it starts beeping (maybe 5Hz) and the Leds are flashing with the same frequency. Sometimes after 10s. beeping, sometimes after 1min, sometimes never, it will start running, so no beeping anymore, Leds on, fans on, the peltier is cooling.
When I unplug the Peltier-Element, everything else works right away. Pluggin the Peltier in again -> faulty behaviour.

So for me it looks like, the power supply is not able to supply the drive current for the Peltier. Too weak or some buffer elcos are gone.

Additional observation:
- During that beeping, a very light ticking noise from the PCB can be heard. Sounds like a relay switching but way softer.
- One of the Transistors get really hot

Trouble Shooting done:
1. The PCB shows some signs of corrosion, so I cleaned it and added some copper lines, because I thought there might be a increased resistance resulting in a voltage drop under load -> no help
2. I replaced the "famous" C8 Cap -> no help
3. I replaced all caps -> no help
4. I replaced C8 a second time -> no help