soldering fumes toxic?

lotusmoon

Joined Jun 14, 2013
I am fairly new to electronics. As soldering equipment was freely available I had not thought there were health hazards from it. I have had some eye problems since I started on my project. Then on watching some you tube videos on soldering I found I needed goggles to protect my eyes and a fan to remove fumes. I now have a fan and goggles, but am interested if there are solders that are less toxic than others. Also if soldering is big time toxic or if it is a minor hazard.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I'd say the overall risk is fairly minor unless you do it all day long for a job, and/or you have poor ventilation.

The biggest danger is the lead, since you cannot detect it and it is a cumulative toxin.

The pain in your eyes is due to the flux, which you can smell and sense. It may not be good for you either but is easy to avoid since you can see and smell it.

I have to admit that I don't wear safety glasses when soldering. I'm normally pretty cautious about safety, for instance I always wear ear plugs when using an engine, but I just don't like anything that restricts my vision. I have enough trouble working on small things that I use a magnifying glass and a bright light to help. Wearing a goggle would make it one step more difficult. This is all a lame excuse, but that's me.

Oh, and no cocktails until the soldering iron has cooled. ;)

lotusmoon

Joined Jun 14, 2013
can the flux get on my hands from holding the solder and then if i rub my eyes get in them that way. my left eyelid is quite swollen.

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
If your fan is working properly you should not need goggles as well, perhaps you are extra sensitive?

However the potential hazards of soldering fumes should not be played down, some fluxes are more dangerous than others.

Most places of work now use a fume cupboard for soldering or at least a fume extraction hood.