solar tracker...

borsaci06

Joined Feb 8, 2014
I need a solar tracker for my Plantoid project. It will rotate a turntable with my potted plant on it, to follow the sun. Details of my project is on my web site at:
http://dh-sims-site.com/plantoid_project.htm
I implemented a simple circuit which I found on the web:

It works fine with a DC motor and without load on it but it doesn't move the turntable when loaded. I tested many motors with different power and voltages with no luck. I know that the transistors are rated for 1,5amps which is well enough for my motors. Any help will be appreciated. I am an experienced hobbyist only... thanks in advance...

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
you are overloading the motor or the turn table with the weight of the potted plant.

you need a higher torque motor or a slower, geared down, motor.

borsaci06

Joined Feb 8, 2014
Motor rotates the turntable and the plant when voltage is applied directly, but when I connect the circuit it doesn't rotate. seems like it doesn't supply enough power...

burger2227

Joined Feb 3, 2014
Well the table following the sun would be enough for me...

You need a motorized gear reduction from an old drill or something. Maybe a cheap cordless screwdriver. I have one that runs on 2 AA batteries and has plenty of torque. Cost about $14 at WallyMart. I've seen regular battery ones for less too.

borsaci06

Joined Feb 8, 2014
thank you all for your responses...
@Bernard... what is a "solar gleaner" and where shall I add this circuit?... sorry if I am asking stupid questions, I am not very experienced about this... I am not using a solar panel in this setup, I am trying to follow the sun with balancing LDRs and will rotate a potted plant on top of a turntable which is sourced from an old LP player...

borsaci06

Joined Feb 8, 2014
That is a poor excuse for a circuit. The 358 opamps can only source a few mA, which is not sufficient base drive for the NPNs (with any real motor).

Read post #9 in this thread.