solar powered smart battery charger

salamander27

Joined Sep 15, 2008
Hi everyone! I am new at this, so here it goes:
I am trying to build a solar powered smart battery charger for a lead acid battery. I believe that I am going to use a 20W, 12V panel, which at its maximum rating can supply 1.67A. The lead acid battery would most likely be a 12V 18Ah battery. My goal is to build a charger that would charge the battery, and turn off the charger when the battery is full (to prevent overcharging). How would I go about this?

Thanks!

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Hi everyone! I am new at this, so here it goes:
I am trying to build a solar powered smart battery charger for a lead acid battery. I believe that I am going to use a 20W, 12V panel, which at its maximum rating can supply 1.67A. The lead acid battery would most likely be a 12V 18Ah battery. My goal is to build a charger that would charge the battery, and turn off the charger when the battery is full (to prevent overcharging). How would I go about this?

Thanks!
You can use a comparator and compare the battery's voltage by reference voltage of 13.4 for gelled type and 13.8 for liquid type batteries. When the batteries voltage will be more than the reference voltage the charging will stop.

HarveyH42

Joined Jul 22, 2007
I'd suggest you search for 'Solar Charge Controller'. Haven't looked in a while, but the few I saw were fairly complex, and kind of a high part count for me to build. Off the shelf controllers are in the $30 range. I figured it would be more of a hassle, and likely more expensive to build, doubtful it would be as good or better in the end. There are quite a few chips dedicated to the task. bu was never interested enough to look into them further. New stuff coming out rapidly for solar energy, should check out some of the alternate energy sites. The real ones, not the 'Joe Cells' and HHO guys...

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007