Solar powered Lithium-Polymer Battery supplemental charging circuit...different twist

nanobot9000

Joined Nov 26, 2008
First of all I am just a hobbyist in electronics and am self-taught - thus my problem! I like to work a lot with robotics. I just joined the site and did some searching, but thought I should post my request for assistance.

I need help designing a simple circuit to charge a 3.7V/20mA LiPo cell from a 4.2V/18ma solar cell. I have researched various charging chips and voltage doublers, but either I find overkill or the two together do not work well. I have an AC powered charger that would work to completely charge the cell, but this design request will be used in a small robotics platform and I thought that while it was just sitting there - any ambient light could give it a little bit of a charge. I know this is not optimal, but again this would be a supplemental charger. Since the solar cell at times only puts out 1.8 to 2.2 v at a distance of 2 feet from a light, I would think I would need some sort of charge pump/super capacitor to help out. The other major design consideration is that it needs to be as small a possible and fit within a 1" X .5" space. I planned to use SMT parts for the final design, but could use other parts for protoyping.

I realize this is a lot to ask, but I am hopeful that someone will be willing to help me out.

Thanks,

Mike

nanobot9000

Joined Nov 26, 2008

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
You're welcome. You will need an energy storage element of some sort, whether it be capacitive or inductive. This is because you need to store voltage and add it to the incoming voltage when your cell voltage is smaller than the charging voltage.

Steve

nanobot9000

Joined Nov 26, 2008
You're welcome. You will need an energy storage element of some sort, whether it be capacitive or inductive. This is because you need to store voltage and add it to the incoming voltage when your cell voltage is smaller than the charging voltage.