Software question,...

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
Hi:) I am new to electronics. I have started reading the volumes of books provided by this website. It's awesome. I love it and appreciate it. Knowledge is power and is very expensive too:( I wouldn't mind going to school for electronics engineering but im not sure I could afford it or if I would even want to pay it if I could. This site is good enough for me:) I dont need the paper degree because I don't plan on working for anyone anyways:)

So! I was wondering if you was any software to simulate circuitry? I downloaded KiCad and DesignSpark PCB but Im not sure if they simulate circuitry?!?! I'm thinking they are only for drawing up circuitry? I installed DS PCB first. I had drawn a simple parallel circuit with a battery and a few resistors here and there and couldnt figure out if it could tell me anything about it. Voltage drops etc.

Anyone familiar with DS PCB? I want a piece of software for leanring to build circuits without actually having to build real circuits. Im not ready to do that yet. I know nothing beats doing the real thing but not yet.

Thanks in advance:)

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
I didn't read the brochure for DS PCB because I don't even know what it is that I'm reading:) LOL. But that's good:) So now I can use both.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Look for a simulator called Yenka. It is not the best tool for producing close to real world results. For that you will want to use something like LTSpice. But it is a very easy to use tool. Probably OK for beginners.

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
Thanks:) Let me try LTSpice first. Talked with someone over at DesignSpark and they said LTSpice comes with DSP PCB.

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
LTSpice is awesome! Exactly what I needed:) I have a question. I uploaded a pic of a simple series I made right out of the book. It's from vol #1 chapter 5.2 page 135. So I built the circuit and ran it,...