Soft (flexi) 150 led panel. Ideas?

buzzy

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Hi all. Big newbie here.
I'm faced with a bit of a challenge. I want to make a flexible LED array wrap (heat resist silicone moulding?) with about 150 to 200 red and blue 5mm bulbs to go around arm for a skin problem. Got the general idea because I have a medical gadget to do the job, but it is a stiff panel with only 50 and I have to hold it and move it around - for seemingly ages. One arm aches fixing the other!
Pulled the thing apart and looks fairly straight forward. Uses a 240 - 12v transformer.
I'm not at all experienced with electronics, but am pretty handy with solder and fabricating with all sorts of materials, and am keen to at least give it a go.
I'm thinking of pouring the silicone into a tray over the circuitry (Just a guess - will take some trial and error)
Can you far more experienced guys give me any tips about suitable connections or general ideas you might have, even if you haven't made anything like it - possible pitfalls etc.
Thanks heaps for any clues about this oddball notion! :rolleyes:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
You seem to have a good idea for how to make a flexible sleeve. Silicone is naturally heat resistant. No problem there. Just lay out your wiring in a tray and pour! I can see it now...a piece of plywood with 200 tiny holes that the LEDs are placed into, a gawdawful amount of wires, and a layer or two of open weave mesh to give the final product resistance to tearing.

The only doubt I have is that shining light on you skin will cure anything. Let me know how that turns out.

buzzy

Joined Dec 29, 2010
... a gawdawful amount of wires, and a layer or two of open weave mesh to give the final product resistance to tearing.
Ha ha! :D Yep, the gawdaful load of wires are a worry! The one I cracked open seemed to be connected by tiny thin flat bars with pre-drilled holes either end (I'm sure they probably have a name to you). Not sure, it's hard to tell under all that solder.