So many PIC choices, suggestions for type or manufacturer?

seabear

Joined Feb 20, 2009
Hi all, I am planning on a fairly simple circuit driven by a couple of switches that I will sense with the PIC and then turn on a relay every X minutes/hours for Y number of seconds/minutes, all driven off of source 12v. I was going to do it with 555 timers and other components but I think I can get better accuracy with a PIC. I can program with Basic or assembly just fine, but I am new to purchasing PICs. Seems like many to choose from including AVR, PICAXE, Arduino, etc. I don't think I will be doing a lot of similar activity in the future so something basic and simple would be fine... also don't think I need a complex/expensive eprom programmer.. Can anyone suggest a place for me to get started or a line of PICs that would suit my needs without going overboard? thanks

russ_hensel

Joined Jan 11, 2009
Only microchip makes pics. For your use I would strongly recommend the Arduino ( not a pic ) and its environment. You will have to learn a bit of c. If you know basic and asm ( for what chip ) picking up c should be no problem.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Look at the per chip prices for each of the various types.

You will see a LARGE difference between the several well known names

Not much of a impediment if you only build single circuits once in a while, but if you want to build twenty or more at a time it add$ up real quick.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
Since you specified PICs, your problem description could be handled by a simple 6-pin device like the 10F206 which costs under a buck (it can be had in an 8-pin DIP package); it has four general purpose digital IO pins; two could be used for reading the switches and the other could be used for controlling the relay; this leaves you with a spare pin to e.g. drive an LED annunciator.

You'll need to buy a programmer; I recommend either the PICkit 2 or PICkit 3. I have both, but frankly prefer the PICkit 2.