SN74151AN: Help understanding HIGH/LOW selector inputs.

atrumblood

Joined May 13, 2012
Hello everyone, I am new to the allaboutcircuits forums. I am here in hopes that I can gain some better understanding on how to use multiplexors.

After trying to teach my self how to use one of them. Specifically the SN74151AN.

I find that I don't quite grasp the high/low logic terminology. I get that high and low refer to the voltage, but I feel I am missing something.

The selectors on the 74151 operate on the high/low logic. but is it simply a matter of connecting them to either Vin or ground to get high or low status on the pin?

For your reference I have included a link to the datasheet.
http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/27382/TI/SN74151AN.html

If anyone can help me understand this I would be appreciative.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Firstly, you have to begin with basic digital logic and boolean algebra.
How much of this do you understand?

Have you read the AAC Tutorials on Digital Logic?

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_4/index.html

A single digital input can be given either of two values, 0 or 1.
This can be referred to as LOW or HIGH.

In 7400 series digital logic, a 0 is represented by a voltage between 0V and 0.6V
and a 1 is represented by a voltage between 2V and 5V.

Digital inputs usually are fed from another digital output. Sometimes GND and Vcc are substituted for digital logic levels.

The 74151 is an 8-line to 1-line data selector. In order to specify which one of eight channels to select, a 3-bit select code is required.

A 3-bit code can have 8 possible values, 0 to 7. This is called a 3-bit binary coded decimal.
This is where knowing the binary number sequence is important.

(There are only 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don't.)

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Actually this chip (on page 4) lists a zero as 0.8 volts max, and a one as 2.0V min.