SMPS troubleshooting

blowhard7

Joined Dec 4, 2008
I'm relatively new at electronics repair with little experience, and have a difficult problem. Posted at a couple other sites and have not had much help.

I have an Akia 200watt SMPS that I have partially repaired. The supply powers a 27 inch lcd tv display. Originally it had 5v standby power only and would not turn on. Almost all of the low voltage output capacitors were domed and leaking. I replaced all of the output caps with new low esr, high frequency caps of the same voltage and capacitance. Both main filter caps were replaced also as a precaution.

The display now functions properly. 5v, 12v and 24v outputs appear good.

Unfortunately, the supply has a noticeable buzz coming from both PQ3220-1000C transformers when turned on. Annoying to the point that the set is not usable. I do not know if the supply buzzed prior to the cap failure since the unit was given to me dead.

Perhaps the bad caps caused damage to other components?? I see no other visible damage. I have checked almost all other components in circuit (to the best of my ability) with a digital VOM and cannot find any bad components.

Suggestions are appreciated. Not sure what to look for next. I'll attach a picture of the supply. Schematic is avialable here: http://www.turuta.md/PSU/LCT-2016.pdf

Attachments

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Check if there are loose parts on the transformers which cause the annoying sound because they vibrate due to interaction with the transformers magnetic field.

IT_Guru

Joined Nov 20, 2008
Ahhhhhhh.... Nothing like a beautiful schematic to get the blood going ;-)

OK... 4 things can cause this 'buzzing' in an SMPS