Smoothing Filter Capacitance Equation

Lightningbolt

Joined Feb 4, 2013
I have been studying about the capacitance required for the smoothing filter of a rectified circuit and I am having difficulty understanding the following.

In a post by thingmaker3 [ 3rd post down @ http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=12878 ] he states "Rule of thumb for calculating power supply filter capacitors: C = 0.7(I)/DE(f)". Other posts I have read also indicate similar formula.

However, I cannot figure out where the "0.7" factor in his equation comes from.

If I understand the derivation provided in the textbook I am studying on the subject, there should be no factor at all in the equation.

Can anyone help me understand the discrepancy?

Thank you in advance for your help!

SPQR

Joined Nov 4, 2011
I "grew up" on the old type of power supply (xformer/bridge/cap/inductor/cap), and thought that your question was interesting.
Been reading a bit today, and it seems that the classic formula (dV = I/fC)
does not take all circuit issues into consideration -
for example, the type of rectification (full/half wave).

THIS is a nice reference.

So let's write down the formula but add an "adjustment" constant.
If the constant = 1, then we are under ideal conditions.

dV (ripple) = K * (I / fC)

Ripple is large for a half-wave rectifier, and smaller for a full-wave rectifier.
So I believe that they empirically adjust for ripple with this constant.

K=0.5 for a full-wave, and >.5 for half-wave.
That 0.7 in thingmaker3's post looks suspiciously like 0.707 which would be close to the calculation of rms of ripple.

Let's see what the experts say.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Disagree with the last part.
The form I use is: root2 C Er F = I
and I have tested it to 1% accuracy on my workbench.
Mnemonic for California surfers: "I am radical to surf peak to peak" (I=Radical 2 * C * Eripple * Frequency)
This formula gives the peak to peak value, which is critical in regulator circuits.