small error (I think)

Unregistered

Joined Dec 31, 1969
To Whom It May Concern:

I'm no scientist, which is exactly why I'm poring through this Web site. But facts are facts, I suppose...

I believe that there is an error in the first section of volume II, where you begin to explain how we measure electrical units. You compare it to measuring mass and termperature.

When you refer to measuring mass, you write, "For mass we might use the units of 'pound' or 'gram.'"

I could be wrong, but I thought pounds were only used to measure weight -- that's to say the measurement of gravity's effect on an object (objects weighing differently on the moon, for example, than on Earth). Mass I had always understood as an absolute, to be measured only in grams, and only on a balance.

Am I wrong? Can mass, indeed, be measured in pounds?

Just curious. Thanks for the great site.

Austin

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
No, the proper unit is the slug. Whose mass is such that it weighs 32 pounds @ 1G acceleration. As long as mass is defined as an absolute, the units do not matter. Just a meters/second is a valid measure of speed, so is furlongs/fortnight.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Although technically incorrect, mass and weight are used interchangeably when they have a constant active medium, i.e. gravity, due to a relationship of direct proportionality in such circumstances. The distinction is only really relevant when considering objects in different gravitational fields.

That said the pound is the unit if mass in the imperial measurement system: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pound_(mass)

Can you provide a link to section in the e-book so I can look at it in context?

Dave

recca02

Joined Apr 2, 2007