Skills to work in embedded design

embed_guru

Joined Jun 16, 2011
If you were hiring manager for a company and needed an embedded design engineer, what skills would you look for? -
Are the following skills good enuf for an entry level position?-
1. Logic circuit design
2. Comp architecture
3. microprocessors and microcontrollers
4. assembly programming..
5. some basic electronics
6. C/C++ programming...incl knowledge of stuff like multi-threading.

pls advise..
Andy

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007
It would really depend on what the company's product line was, as well as the size of the company. A small company would be more interested in a multi-talented engineer; a larger one would have separate hardware and software sections.

As an engineer, your list would probably catch my eye, although "some" basic electronics would raise a flag -- how much is "some"? As an HR manager, I would probably have a list to check your qualifications against.

If you do get called for an engineering interview, be prepared to go into a lot more detail about your list entries. (The HR interviews are more psych-type stuff. The HR folks need some way to justify their existence.)

--Rich

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
ENTRY LEVEL? Wow, you sure want a lot for no money.

1. Logic circuit design
Did he take a logic circuit course?
Check

2. Comp architecture
Is he3 going to design computers?
Unnecessary

3. microprocessors and microcontrollers
Same thing, isn't it? Did he take a course on either?
Check

4. assembly programming..
Is your company too cheap to buy a decent compiler?
If so, start posting your own resume.
It is a plus if he has done some
Unnecessary

5. some basic electronics
Are the last two letters of his degree "E" and "E"?
Check

6. C/C++ programming...incl knowledge of stuff like multi-threading.
Do you actually use C++ for embedded or are you just repeating
buzzwords you read somewhere? If you can tell me what "RTOS"
stands for then I'll answer you about multi-threading.